All boats to Hesteyri can stop in Grunnavík on the way if requested.

Boat to Hesteyri
Valid: 03.06 - 29.08.2019

Price: 10.500.- per person one way

Hesteyri is a paradise for hikers and a popular first or last stop for longer tours. It is one of the gateways to Hornstrandir. Hesteyri is located in untouched nature, an area with no roads nor vehicles of any kind. 

At Hesteyri you will find the old Doctor’s House café and hostal.serves traditional Icelandic refreshments. It also serves as a primitive guesthouse, where time has pretty much stood still since the abandonment.

Please be ready by the boat 30 minutes prior to departure time.

 

Mondays:
Departs from Ísafjörður at 09:00.

Arrives in Hesteyri around 10:00.

Departs from Hesteyri between 10:00 and 11:00.

 

Tuesdays:

Departs from Ísafjörður at 17:30.

Arrives in Hesteyri around 18:30.

Departs from Hesteyri between 18:30 and 19:30.

 

WednesdaysFridays & Sundays:

Departs from Ísafjörður at 13:00.

Arrives in Hesteyri around 14:00.

Departs from Hesteyri at approx. 17:00.

 

 

Saturdays:

Departs from Ísafjörður at 09:00 

On Saturdays we offer a longer tour around the Glacier Fjords (Jökulfirðir) which includes Hesteyri. The landscape of the Jökulfirðir fjords is beautiful with its impressive, steep snow-flecked mountains and its quiet and secluded coves. In Jökulfirðir you get a unique viewpoint to the Drangajökull glacier. The boat leaves from Ísafjordur and makes the first stop most often in Veiðileysufjörður. 

Prices 2019: 
Grunnavík 10.500.-
Hesteyri 10.500.-
Veiðileysufjörður 12.900.-
Hrafnfjörður 15.900.-

 

 * PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTIONS FROM THE 2019 SCHEDULE;

 

WEEK 24

Monday 10.6.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 08:00am 

Wednesday 12.6.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður 16:30hrs 

Friday 14.6.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 14:30hrs 

 

WEEK 25

Friday 21.6.2019 - No boat to Hesteyri.

Sunday 23.6.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 14:30hrs 

 

WEEK 26

Monday 24.6.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 07:00am 

Friday 28.6.2019 - Ekki farið á Hesteyri.

 

WEEK 27 

Monday 1.7.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 08:00am 

Saturday 6.7.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 08:00am 

 

WEEK 28

Thursday 11.7.2019 – EXTRA BOAT Departure from Ísafjörður kl: 08:30

 

WEEK 29

Monday 15.7.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 07:30am

Sunday 21.7.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 17:30hrs

 

WEEK 30

Saturday 27.7.2019 -  No boat to Hesteyri.

 

WEEK 31

Monday 29.7.2019 - No boat to Hesteyri.

Saturday 3.8.2019 -  No boat to Hesteyri.

 

WEEK 32

Saturday 10.8.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 08:00am

Sunday 11.8.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 17:00hrs

 

WEEK 34

Friday 23.8.2019 - Departure from Ísafjörður at 13:15hrs